top of page
  • Writer's pictureMC Till

Is 4:44 a Classic Album?


The other night I sat down with a group of friends to discuss A Tribe Called Quest. Specifically we talked about “Can I Kick It” from their debut album and “Whatever Will Be” from their most recent album. The conversation was great. We laughed a little, learned a little, and appreciated the Tribe a lot! Even though we had some disagreements over which Tribe album was best and which tunes were their very best songs, all agreed that A Tribe Called Quest has created a few classic albums at minimum. Later this month (August 31st to be exact) we will come back to the table to discuss Jay Z’s new album 4:44.

So, I’ve been thinking a lot about this new Hova album. Is it a classic? And if it is, why? What makes a classic a classic? Do you know right off the bat? Is it classic upon first listen? Or do classics have to stand the test of time? What do you think?

I’m not sure I know the absolute answers to any of these questions. I’m not even sure there are absolute answers to these questions. However, one thing I know for sure, I love some Hip-hop music and I really enjoy talking about it. So, we will once again come together to expand the Hip-hop conversation at the next Hip-hop Community & Conversation event. Will you join us?

Hip-hop Community & Conversation

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Cincy Stories Storefront

961 E. McMillan Street

Cincinnati, OH

7pm – 9pm

If you live outside of Cincinnati, no problem! Just hit me back with your review of or thoughts on 4:44 and I’ll make sure to share your thoughts with the group. I’m very interested to know what you think about the album and if you think it is a modern day classic. Let me know!!!

Peace,

MC Till

PS- If you support Everybody’s Hip-hop Label on a monthly basis THANK YOU SO MUCH! We recently received a guest feature from Prince Po of Organized Konfusion and it sounds great. We are working to get Iomos Marad on that same track. We also just confirmed a Redman tribute song featuring Theory Hazit!!!! The song is co-produced by me and super producer Joe November. Thank you for helping make these opportunities possible. If you are not a member of EHHL and would like to sign up, simply visit www.everybodyshiphop.com We would love to have you!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page