top of page
  • Writer's pictureMC Till

From Darn Near Depression to a Record Label...


Three years ago I was not in a very good place. I went from performing nearly 100 shows a year to performing nearly 1 every few months… if that. I went from creating or promoting music daily to doing it about once a month… if that. I made the sacrifice to cut back for good, healthy family reasons that did produce joy. However, there was a lot of pain involved too. Then an idea… I couldn’t perform 100 shows a year and be the husband and father I wanted to be, BUT I could make 100 beats a year. I could tuck the kids in, spend time with my wife, do some cleaning, and then zip down to the basement and start making beats. And that is exactly what I did. Then, I realized I could take those beats, send them to rapper friends of mine and they could record songs to them. They could send them back to me and I could mix and master them and promote the music online. I reached out to Michael Stover. We had lunch and talked. We made plans. We met Joe Thomas via facebook. He was cool. He thought we were cool. We set up a call. We made plans. The three of us created Everybody’s Hip-hop Label: a hip-hop label dedicated to making, promoting, and DISCUSSING Hip-hop music. We began building a foundation. We asked questions online to get conversation going. We created a monthly meet up to discuss Hip-hop in Cincinnati, OH. We started recording tribute songs to artists that have inspired us. And now, almost three years later we released our first official album, Power of The Mind, by A.C. The Entity. We released the album May 24th, 2019 and so far the reception has been amazing. Thank you to everyone who has taken a moment to listen to the album and offered his or her feedback. We truly appreciate you and I’m truly in a much better place. I am being the husband and father I want to be AND living out my passion for Hip-hop music. Thank you for helping me find myself again. Peace. MC Till


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page